THE BOOK OF THE NEW SUN: The Shadow of the Torturer; The Claw of the Conciliator; The Sword of the Lictor; The Citadel of the Autarch.

First edition in this form and with these illustrations. Limited edition, signed by the author, illustrator and Neil Gaiman. Four volumes. Publisher's three-quarter black buckram blocked with titles in red foil to the spine. Purple cloth front boards printed with designs in black and red by Sam Weber. Black page edges. Set in Jenson with Priori Serif display and printed on Abbey Pure Rough paper. Printed in two colours throughout. Each volume with decorative initial letters, a colour frontispiece, a double-page illustration and three black and white full-page plates by Sam Weber. The illustrations are printed on Natural Evolution Ivory paper. Housed in the publisher's original handmade cloth slipcase blocked on two sides in pale gold foil with designs by the illustrator and lined with silver mirrored paper. A fine set.

Issued in a limited edition of 750 numbered copies of which this example is number 505 and signed by the author Gene Wolfe, the illustrator Sam Weber and Neil Gaiman who contributes the introduction. A superb collected edition of Gene Wolfe's science fiction tetralogy. First published by Sidgwick and Jackson between 1980 and 1983, each of the four books was the recipient of at least one major science fiction award.

Stock code: 25346


Do you have a book like this to sell?
Read the Sell Books to Lucius page for more information on how to sell to us.




London: The Folio Society.


Children's / Illustrated
Science Fiction / Fantasy
Modern First Editions
Adventure / Thriller
Signed / Inscribed
Recent Acquisitions
Sell your books to us Log in / Register