First UK edition, first printing, and first hardcover edition. Publisher's original dark brown cloth with silver titles to the spine in the Barbara Walton illustrated dustwrapper. A near fine copy, the binding square and firm with a little bumping at the spine tips, the cloth bright and fresh. The contents are clean throughout and free of foxing, inscriptions or stamps. Complete with the very good lightly rubbed, creased and spine faded dustwrapper, that remains without loss or tears. Not price clipped (18/- net to the lower front flap). Scarce.

The first publication in hardcover of the author's first short story collection (issued in America as a paperback original in 1966). The fifteen stories, written between 1947 and 1966 include 'Hangover'; 'The Big Blue'; 'The Trouble with Erica'; 'Long Shot'; 'Looie Follows Me'; 'Blurred View'; 'The Loveliest Girl in the World'; 'Triangle'; 'The Bear Trap'; 'A Romantic Courtesy'; 'The Fast Loose Money'; 'The Straw Witch'; 'End of the Tiger'; 'The Trap of Solid Gold'; 'Afternoon of the Hero'.

Stock code: 25431


Do you have a book like this to sell?
Read the Sell Books to Lucius page for more information on how to sell to us.


London: Robert Hale.


Modern First Editions
Adventure / Thriller
Recent Acquisitions
Sell your books to us Log in / Register